Land Use Committee

Chair: Keith MacVean, Moore & Van Allen

Focus: The committee meets with city and county officials to review policies and procedures affecting development in our community and to promote a well-planned transportation infrastructure for the Charlotte region.

Membership: Members are developers, lawyers, architects, engineers and other entities involved in real estate development. As in all Public Policy Committees, membership is open to anybody who is an active Chamber member.

Meeting Dates: January 13, March 25, May 27, July 22 CANCELLED, September 23, November 11. Dates are subject to change, please check back.

RSVP here

Past Agenda Items:

  • January 13, 2015: Paul Denvir of Gartner Consulting gave a presentation to the real estate industry on the building permitting process and obtained feedback on the necessary next steps in improving inter-jurisdictional coordination. The report on the development review and construction permitting process recommends substantive changes in the governance structure. The boards of the Apartment Association, the Charlotte Home Builders Association, NAIOP and REBIC were also invited to attend, as this critical issue impacts all sectors of the building and development industry. Assistant City Manager Ann Wall and Assistant County Manager Leslie Johnson were on hand to take in feedback.
  • December 17, 2014: The Land Use and Transportation committees had a joint meeting for December. The committee spoke about the process to rewrite zoning ordinances and allowed the committee members to develop a position on zoning ordinances.
  • September 24, 2014: The committee hosted Dena R. Diorio, Mecklenburg County manager, who provided an update on the improvements toward the permitting and inspections processes. Joe Padilla, executive director of the Real Estate and Building Industry Coalition, gave an update on the Post-Construction Controls Ordinance (PCCO) mitigation fee extension, which will go before council in October.


  • Please check back for special announcements.


Natalie English
Senior Vice President,
Public Policy


Carrie Cook
VP, Governmental Affairs,
Public Policy

Laura Guacci
Public Policy Programs