Job Support Groups

sponsored by
For career opportunities with Carolinas HealthCare System, click here.

If staff reductions are necessary in your business, providing your displaced employees with resources to support them in their job searches may go a long way in maintaining good will. Below is a list of Charlotte-area job search support groups compiled by Bill Crigger, president of Compass Career Management Solutions and a member of the Charlotte Chamber Manufacturers Council board.

You can also visit the Charlotte Chamber Career Center for additional resources for both job seekers and companies.

Career Transition Group
Mondays, 11 a.m. – 12 noon
Providence United Methodist Church
2810 Providence Rd, Charlotte, NC 28211
Bill Crigger, Bill Jeffries
704-849-2500
bcrigger@compasscareer.com, bjeffries@providenceumc.org
Church at Charlotte Employment Network
Mondays (1st & 3rd), 7 – 9 p.m.
Church at Charlotte Worship Center, Room W-8
2500 Carmel Rd, Charlotte, NC 28226
Doug Forrest
704-369-3215
ds4rest@carolina.rr.com
Christians in Career Transition
Mondays (1st & 3rd), 7 – 9 p.m.
St. Matthew Catholic Church, New Life Bldg, Room 132
8015 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277
Jim Hamrlik, Jack Rueckel
704-543-7677 ext. 1040, 704-341-8449
jhamrlik@carolina.rr.com, jrueckel@earthlink.net
Careers in Transition
Mondays (2nd & 4th), 7 – 8:30 p.m.
St. Philip Neri Catholic Church, 103 Ministry Bldg
292 Munn Rd East, Fort Mill, SC 29715
Tony Armeni, Gus Leotta
803-802-0614, 704-617-4208
scarmeni@comporium.net, gleotta@aol.com, citnetwork@yahoogroups.com
(No Group Name)
Mondays (2nd & 4th), 7 p.m.
Weddington United Methodist Church, Hemby House
7003 Weddington-Matthews Rd., Weddington, NC
John Chaplin, Dick Garner
704-844-0421, 704-846-2503
rgsg1@windstream.net
Calvary Crossroads
Mondays, 7 – 9 p.m.
Calvary Church, Crown Room
5801 Pineville-Matthews Road, Charlotte, NC 28226
Bob Adams
704-562-7469
CalvaryCrossroads@carolina.rr.com www.CalvaryChurch.com/career
Job Search Club
Mondays, 9:30 a.m.
Ada Jenkins Center, Quixote Café
Carla Schiltz
704-896-0471 ext. 124
cara.schlitz@adajenkins.org
Charlotte Professionals
Tuesdays (1st & 3rd), 8 – 9:30 a.m.
Shoney's Restaurant
231 Carowinds Blvd, Fort Mill SC 29715
Bill Crigger
704-849-2500
bcrigger@compasscareer.com
Job Hunters Support Group
Tuesdays, 7 – 9 p.m.
St. John's Episcopal Church - Room 204/205
1623 Carmel Road, Charlotte, NC 28226
Jeff Searcy
704-341-2255
jeffsearcy@carolina.rr.com
Job Seekers Support Group,
sponsored by Jewish Family Services
and Temple Israel

Meets the 3rd Thurdsay of the month from 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
Temple Israel
4901 Providence Rd
Charlotte, NC 28226
Stacy S. Baum
704-364-6594
stacy.baum@jfscharlotte.org
Career Assessment Class (HRD7000)
Wednesdays, 1:30 – 4:30 p.m. 4wks
ESC/Job Link
5601 Executive Center Dr. (East Charlotte)
Tim Hanson
704-330-6694
tim.hanson@cpcc.edu
Carmel Baptist Church Employment Ministry
Wednesdays
Carmel Baptist Church
1145 Pineville-Matthews Road, Matthews, NC 28105
Rachel Dunning, Morgan Kizer, Annette Helms
704-847-8575
racheld@carmelbaptist.org
morgan-kizer@peoplepc.com
annetteh@carmelbaptist.org
PRONET Charlotte
Thursdays, 10 – 11:30 a.m.
Char-Meck Workforce Development Board
CPCC West Campus, Harris Conference Ctr.
Sue Merkin, Debra Dixon
704-336-2126
smerkin@ci.charlotte.nc.us, dddixon@ci.charlotte.nc.us

NetWORK
Saturday (1st & 3rd)
10 a.m. to 12 noon
Davidson United Methodist Church
233 South Main St, Davidson NC 28036
Charles Haag
704-530-5044
charleshaag@bellsouth.net

NRHC NetWorking Group
Thursday (1st & 3rd), 7 p.m.
North Rock Hill Church
2562 Mt. Gallant Rd, Rock Hill NC 29732
Tim Bagnell
803-517-7525
NRHC.NetWORK.Group@gmail.com
Job Seeking Skills Class (HRD6004)
Central Piedmont Community College, Various campuses
Tim Hanson, Elizabeth Mcgee
704-330-6694, 704-330-6794
tim.hanson@cpcc.edu, Elizabeth.mcgee@cpcc.edu
Career Connections
Myers Park United Methodist Church
1501 Queens Road
Charlotte NC 28207
George Ragsdale, Shane Page, Jennifer Martin, William Roth
704-295-4840
george@MPUMC.org
Shane@MPUMC.ORG, Jennifer@MPUMC.ORG, broth@MPUMC.ORG

Saturday Seminar + 8-week workshop
Saturdays 9-11 a.m.
Central Church of God
5301 Sardis Rd.
Charlotte, NC 28270
Robert McKenzie, Shirley Woodard
704-264-5276, 704-364-5003
robert.i.mckenzie@bankofamerica.com
shirleyw@centralchurchofgod.org

Job Transition Sunday School Class, Christ Covenant Church
Sundays 10-11:30 a.m.
800 Fullwood Rd
Matthews, NC 28105
Michael Epifanio
704-321-7145
info@christiancareersconnection.com
Career Crossroads Network
Lake Wylie Christian Assembly
Sundays 4:30-6:15 p.m.
5766 Charlotte Hwy.
Lake Wylie, SC 29710
Don Clewley
803-222-0069
704-689-0049
lwca.crossroads@gmail.com

Career Transition Ministry
Harrison United Methodist Church
Tuesdays 7-8:30 p.m.
15008 Lancaster Hwy
Pineville, NC 28134
Gerri Steadman, Sally Ainslie
704-541-3486 ext. 251
gerrico1@aol.com
sally.ainslie@harrisonumc.org

Ministry at Work
Matthews United Methodist Church
Thursdays 7-9 p.m.
S. Trade St.
Matthews, NC 28105
Bryon Brogran
704-488-8175
bjbrogan@carolina.rr.com

Thursday Night Special Seminars
Church at Charlotte
Worship Center Choir Room
(selected Thursdays)
2500 Carmel Rd
Charlotte, NC 28226
Rich Sauser, Doug Forrest
704-369-3215
rich.sauser@gmail.com
doug@ceohr.com

Sardis Presbyterian Church
6100 Sardis Rd.
Charlotte, NC 28270
Rev. Alice Johnson
704-366-1854
alice.johnson@sardis.org

Engineering, Manufacturing & Quality Assurance Roundtable
Friday (2nd and 4th), 2-4 p.m.
Carolina Cafe
Ballantyne Promenade
5361 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy.
Charlotte, NC 28277
Colleen Conboy
704-577-1606
colleenconboy@aol.com

Cornerstone Career Development Center
Friendship Mission Baptist Church
3400 Beatties Ford Rd.
Charlotte, NC
Kimlerley Harrison
704-391-6695
kharrison@friendshipcharlotte.org

e4myjob’s Wednesday Support Group
Every Wednesday – 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.
Café Carolina and Bakery
5361 Ballantyne Commons, Suite 200
Charlotte, NC 28277
Ken Huber
(Cell) 404-550-4112
kbhuber@e4myJob.com
Group Specialties: Networking Resources,
Resume “ROAST” & Job Search Training
FREE Job Search Resources
Available at: www.e4myJob.com

Central Piedmont Community College also recently launched www.cpcc.edu/changingcareers as a resource for displaced workers in Charlotte and Mecklenburg County.